Reviews
Previews
Articles
PC Demos
Console Trailers
Contests
Archives
About Us
News Pipe
 Home
 

S E A R C H

The BEST source for game cheats, codes, tips, hints, and FAQs.


Copyright 1995-2004
GamesFirst!
1995-2001
GamesFirst! Magazine

ABOUT US

GamesFirst! Internet Magazine
65 Vernon Place
Buffalo, NY  14214

Editorial Staff

Shawn Rider
Editor

editors@gamesfirst.com

Sarah Wichlacz
Editor

editors@gamesfirst.com

Jeff Luther
Editor

jeff@gamesfirst.com
Eric Qualls
News Editor
eric@gamesfirst.com
Tristan Mayshark
Production Editor
tristan@gamesfirst.com

Senior Staff

Rick Fehrenbacher rick@gamesfirst.com
Monica Hafer monica@gamesfirst.com
Jeremy Kauffman jeremy@gamesfirst.com
Aaron Stanton aaron@gamesfirst.com

Staff

Todd Allen toadallen@hotmail.com
Matt Baldwin mbaldwin2@uswest.net
Eric Bodrero ericb@gamesfirst.com 
Steffan Delpiano n/a@notgiven.com
Jason Frank jason@gamesfirst.com
Skyler Guest skyler@gamesfirst.com
Matt James mattj@gamesfirst.com 
Blaine Krumpe blaine@gamesfirst.com
Steve Simmons stevesimmons@gamesfirst.com
Colin K. Yu colin@gamesfirst.com 

Award Graphics are now available. Click here to download.

Image Policy Click Here

GamesFirst! Magazine's award-winning computer and console game site offers hundreds of reviews, articles, and editorials to the gaming public. Established in early 1995, the site began as an offshoot of Cactus Computer in Moscow, Idaho. In 1996, GamesFirst! was sold to Zap Van Riecken, who edited the magazine until Rick Fehrenbacher and Al Wildey purchased the site in October of 1998. On October 1, 2001 GamesFirst! was taken over by its current editorship, Shawn Rider, Sarah Wichlacz, and Jeff Luther. For more details about the history of GF! and the latest change of hands, check out Shawn's editorial, GamesFirst! Three Point Oh-So-Good. 

GamesFirst! prides itself on being the most well-written game review sites on the web. But don't just take our word for it; the site has won tons of awards. So without further ado, here's a brief history of the awards we've managed to garner thus far. 

 


March, 2003, GamesFirst! has been honored by Top Site Awards, a site recognition service that is edited by actual people (hard to find in these days of automated processing). Here's what they had to say:


Top Site Awards
"Top Site Awards are given to quality web sites that present interesting content in a user friendly manner. Only the very best sites earn the Top Site Award and get listed."

 


Microsoft honored GamesFirst! Magazine by including us in their "Best of the Web: Computers and Technologies."  We (along with Happy Puppy and C/Net) were the only game magazines to be given the honor at that time. Here's what they said:

microsoft.gif (680 bytes)Here's your source for previews of the best new games, plus tips and tricks for your favorites. 


WebCrawler also reviewed GamesFirst! in pretty glowing terms: 

newspidey_3.gif (4048 bytes)An internet magazine reviewing a variety of computer games. All tastes are catered to, from gamers who want to save the galaxy from invading aliens to those dreaming of crossing swords with King Arthur's knights. GamesFirst! also has a great selection of games for kids and helpful technical tips on the best way to install a game, free up memory, or play over a network. 


NetGuide selected our site as a Gold Site -- one of the best on the Web. The Gold Award recognizes Web sites that meet their stringent criteria for overall excellence:

An essential resource for the serious games enthusiast, GamesFirst! Magazine offers excellent articles on new technologies in game development and graphics, reviews popular games, and shares tech tips to help you configure your PC for optimal game playing. 


I-Way Magazine publishes a list of the best Internet sites in the world, broken down by category. In the August 1996 I-Way 500, GamesFirst! was ranked eighteenth among all Internet magazines. I-Way said:

"GamesFirst! has it all for hard-core PC game players: previews, reviews, demos, and playing tips, to mention just a few of its features." 


We're not sure when Point honored us by including GamesFirst! on their list of the top 5% of all Web sites, but here's what they had to say:

Content: 39/50

Presentation: 36/50

Experience: 38/50


Microsoft Network awarded us Pick of the Week.

"Here's your source for reviews and previews of the best new games, plus tips, tricks, and how-tos for your favorites." 


Finally, Seven Wonders of the Internet awarded us the Sports and Entertainment award.

"Get the scoop on which games to add to your office computer at GamesFirst!. The boss won't mind..."   


GamesFirst! Image Policy:
GamesFirst! protects the copyrights of any photographs placed on our site. Screenshots of games are trademark and copyright the respective companies. Hotlinks will be turned into advertisements for GamesFirst! Thank you.

1995-2001 GamesFirst! Magazine

GamesFirst! is a trademark of GamesFirst! Magazine. All other product, brand and publication names are registered trademarks or trademarks of their respective companies. All copyrights are held by GamesFirst! Magazine or their respective owners. Some of the game description text and product names may have been used without permission. No challenge is intended to the status of any trademarks or copyrights, and their use without the appropriate symbols should not be construed as a challenge to such status. GamesFirst! Magazine does not make any representation or warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to any information herein. GamesFirst! Magazine disclaims any liability whatsoever for any use of such information.

|| News Pipe ||

(Scroll for latest news.)

 
Contests!


Four lucky GF! readers will win a copy of Karaoke Revolution. The contest runs until February 14, so hurry up and ENTER NOW!

Questions? Suggestions? Comments?
Contact us at:

editors@gamesfirst.com