home > review >
GamesFirst! Online since 1995
previous :: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 :: next
12/23/06 | | Matt James
Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam is sort of like a THPS lite, but that doesn't make it a game you should avoid. Building on the old-school THPS timed gameplay style, Downhill Jam offers up some quality gameplay on the Nintendo DS. If you're looking for something a little less intense than THUG or Project 8 for your daily commute or li'l skater-in-training, the you could do worse than grabbing Downhill Jam. Check out Matt's review for the details.


Advertise on GamesFirst!


12/22/06 | | Amanda Bateman
'I am stronger than you are!' 'No, I am strogner than you are!' And then the two guys start screaming and powering up, and there's a lot of fighting. Yes folks, that's my summary of the craziness that is Dragon Ball Z. But despite that, it makes a pretty fun fighting game! And once you'll read this, maybe you'll understand why.


12/19/06 | | Chris Martin
The Xbox 360 needed a killer app to help counteract the release of both the PS3 and the Nintendo Wii, a game that would make their year-old system more appealing to potential Christmas shoppers. Well, Epic delivered with Gears of War, one of the best games to ever grace a game system. Even after the shiny new gleam has worn off, Gears of War continues to amaze, and promises to be a lasting online and offline hit for some time to come. Between Gears of War and Halo, Microsoft is holding some intellectual properties that will sell consoles, and you better bet that they know it.


12/09/06 | | George Holomshek
The Wii has burst onto the scene this Fall every bit as popular as some imagined. Its success is due, in part, to a single title that many Nintendo fans have been eager to play: The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess has been re-tooled from its Gamecube origins for the Wii's unique controller and brawnier hardware. The result is a launch title of virtually unparalleled quality. Is Twilight Princess all that we hoped it would be? Our man George is mighty impressed. Check out his review for the details.


12/07/06 | | Sean Hilliard
We sent our resident cheeky strategy freak Sean to get the story on Bomberman: Act Zero. After the fiasco that was F.E.A.R. Extraction Point we thought that everyone's favorite neighborhood explosives expert would be a nice change of pace. Boy, were we wrong! Not only has the new Bomberman been stripped of his best classic gameplay, it's been replaced by a semi-FPS element that simply makes it hard to see. Add in 99 uninspired levels and no ability to save, and you'll soon mourn Bomberman of old. Check out Sean's write-up to see why.


12/05/06 | | Jason Perkins
Attempting to capitalize on the void left by the '90s classic Jagged Alliance, Brigade E5: New Jagged Union brings mercenary strategy back to the PC. Sadly, with a poor graphics engine, buggy gameplay, and portions of the dialog that someone forgot to translate from the original Russian during the English conversion of the game, Brigade is a train wreck. The mulitplayer isn't functional and the game will sometimes miss event triggers after you beat a mission. Solid it concept, sluggish in execution, you'll want to avoid Jagged Union until patches make it playable.


11/30/06 | | Amanda Bateman
Do you need some ninjitsu in your portable gaming life? Don't get enough anime on television? Naruto Ninja Council 2 blends side-scrolling adventure and fighting-game style action, which sounds awesome on paper. But you might want to check out this review before making the big purchase.


11/24/06 | | Chris Martin
The original GTR FIA GT was a popular title with the hardcore racing sim fans. Featuring great graphics, excellent control and near-perfect driving feel, the GTR franchise has a lot to live up to. So how does GTR2 FIA GT stack up? We let our resident GF! race sim fanatic, Chris Martin, run it around the track, and he brought back this review.


11/22/06 | | Sean Hilliard
Do you like shooting bad guys in the face with a variety of weapons? Then you're probably already familiar with F.E.A.R., last year's instant classic FPS from Monolith. We strapped our resident cheeky strategy freak Sean to a desk and made him play the new expansion pack to F.E.A.R., Extraction Point, until he swore Shawn was Alma and the rest of the GF! staff were clone troops. And that's one game that's sure to end badly. As part of his community service, we're making him write the review anyways. Enjoy!


11/19/06 | | Laurie Taylor
Her Interactive has been successful with their Nancy Drew series. Rather than trying to turn Nancy into some Lara Croft wannabe, the current line of Nancy Drew mystery games focus on adventures with compelling stories and inclusive content. These are games that make an effort to represent the real world in all its diversity and they privilege science and logic over mindless combat. That fresh perspective makes us forgive them somewhat for their gameplay hiccups. Get Laurie's full review here.


previous :: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 :: next

Candid and thoughtful.