home > preview >
GamesFirst! Online since 1995
previous :: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 :: next
05/15/06 | | Chris Martin
Microsoft's 500 lbs gorilla this Fall is Gears of War. Not only did Gears manage to rip the GamesFirst! Best of Show trophy right out of our +5 Controller Grip, but it managed to prove to some jaded fellows that it is more than just another shooter. Featuring a focus on team-based strategic play, elements of quick-reflex skills, and some of the best audio and visuals we've ever seen, Gears of War is the one game every Xbox 360 owner will buy this Fall.


Advertise on GamesFirst!


05/14/06 | | Jeremy Kauffman
EA's Battle for Middle Earth series brings the insanely huge battles of the Lord of the Rings trilogy to the small screen (if you aren't blessed like our man Jeremy with a really big monitor). But now EA is set to make Battle for Middle Earth II the first major real-time strategy game to work well on the home console. Previous attempts to bring titles like Starcraft to the game consoles have fallen flat, but after some hands-on time with BFME2, it looks like EA has finally broken through to a working control scheme that should make Xbox 360 owners very happy.


05/14/06 | | Matt James
Star Trek: Legacy was one of the most impressive titles we saw at E3 2006. Featuring nearly every ship from every series and many different famous battles from Trek history, this is definitely one for the die hard fans. Incredible graphics and deep gameplay complete the interstellar package here. Check out Matt's hands-on preview for the full details.


05/13/06 | | Blaine Krumpe
EA showed off the latest addition to the Battlefield Franchise: Battlefield 2142. This installment adds a little sci-fi flair to the action, but remains true to the roots of the series in its realism and excellent online multiplayer support. We just wish it had some kind of interesting storyline, since the futuristic setting easily allows for the most imaginative (or at least slightly clever) premise of all the Battlefield games. Still, Blaine says we'll be able to get over the plot and focus on the action, which is oh-so-sweet. Get the in-depth hands-on preview here.


05/13/06 | | George Holomshek
Twilight Princess might be the star of the show, but the DS Zelda title Phantom Hourglass is still worth a look. Pursuing the cartoon-Link style of Wind Waker, Phantom Hourglass fully exploits the DS touch-screen. Players lead Link around by tapping the screen and making a small fairy appear. Link follows this fairy to wherever you want him to go. Sounds wacky? Yep. But George says it's actually not bad. Check it out.


05/11/06 | | Chris Martin
It was quite a day at the Nintendo booth at E3 today. With 27 titles, along with the Wii itself to be seen inside the fortress of a booth Nintendo had built, demand was high and lines were long. How long, you ask? Try a line of people with enough manpower that, if they wanted to, could have marched across the hall and held most of the Sony booth hostage. And while this mass of humanity deterred most of the GamesFirst! crew until tomorrow, our man Chris decided to brave the storm. Not only did he manage to come back alive, he even brought back an amusing story and some impressions of Mario's latest adventure.


05/10/06 | | Chris Martin
game: Fable 2
category: announced
Fans of being evil, rejoice! The sequel to the morality breaking game (or making, but that's no fun) Fable and Fable: The Lost Chapters for the Xbox has been announced for the Xbox 360. We couldn't be happier. Finally, Peter Molyneux's team of jokesters and homage heralds are hard at work on the sequel to one of the most promising (and overhyped) games ever to grace a console. And we got the first look! Here's what we know about Fable 2!


05/08/06 | | Blaine Krumpe
Unreal Tournament has a reputation that obviously precedes itself. Now we're all on pins and needles about the next generation of Tournament with UT 2007 and Blaine has the lowdown on what we're expecting, what we're guessing, and what we hope the next Unreal will feature. We have more on the future of frag right here.


05/07/06 | | George Holomshek
game: Sadness
Indy Polish developer, Nibris, has given us some very nice screens of their upcoming Wii project, Sadness. Sadness is an unusual game for a few reasons: It's entirely in black-and-white, which gives it the feel of a creepy old-school horror movie. The psychological tensions built into the game should help to accentuate that "Psycho" quality, and to further intensify the gameplay, Nibris has also disregarded traditional weapons in favor of ad hoc armaments. Players will have to defend themselves with sticks, stones, torches, and shards of glass. George has a complete rundown on why Sadness is on his radar at E3 2006.


05/05/06 | | Chris Martin
game: Crysis
"What makes a game, Mr. Yerli? Is it having the best graphics, no matter the cost? Is that what makes a game?..." (Kudos if you know the homage). Even though Crysis, CryTek's newest project for the PC, has graphics that will drop your jaw, CryTek CEO Cevat Yerli has made it clear that they have no intentions of letting it become another FarCry: Instincts. Just like Half-Life became famous partly for its in-game use of storytelling, Crysis hopes to stand out for more than just its great graphics and gameplay. CryTek hopes to shed the image of producing video games with B-Movie storylines; they're aiming to offer next generation storytelling for a new generation of gaming.


previous :: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 :: next

Remember the neediest.