home > preview >
GamesFirst! Online since 1995
previous :: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 :: next
05/23/05 | | Blaine Krumpe
category: archive
The original Star Wars: Battlefront allowed players to experience their favorite Star Wars locations from the eyelevel of the troops on the ground. Whether you played on the side of light or the side of dark didn't matter; you were sure to enjoy using the weapons of Star Wars to battle it out in a galaxy far, far away. LucasArts was kind enough to take us behind closed doors down at E3 2005 and show us the goodies of the next game in the franchise, cleverly named Star Wars: Battlefront II. What are they doing to make a great game better? How about some space battles? Read Blaine's preview for more details on what you can expect.


Advertise on GamesFirst!


05/22/05 | | Shawn Rider
category: archive
One of the best things at E3 wasn't even a game. "Wha?!?" you say, in your best Jon Stewart, "B-b-but E3 is about games?!?" True dat. So if we must justify it, let's put the Ministry of Sound StikAx in the category of "performative play." Using a unique hardware controller up to two people can collaborate to mix audio and video on the fly. It's a revolution for VJs and DJs, and it's real, real fun.


05/22/05 | | Eric Bodrero
category: archive
There haven't been many really great hack-and-slash titles since Diablo II left the stage a few years back. While the classic franchise exited in fairly good form, it left behind a void that's been taken on by any number of competent top-down dungeon crawlers. While a number of these attempts were solid, we're still waiting for the title that will help us forget just how good Diablo was. Dungeon Siege II attempts to improve everything it's carried over from the first game, and wipe Diablo from your memory. Eric sits down to lay out some of the details about how they intend to do that.


05/21/05 | | Blaine Krumpe
category: archive
For all of its innovative design and touch screen, so far the DS has not really delivered the kind of different experiences that it has the potential for. Blaine identifies one great use of the touch screen that makes possible a thoroughly enjoying pocket form of Age of Empires: Age of Kings. AoK is a classic turn-based strategy game, and so far the direction this handheld version is taking might make it one of the first pocket strategy games to be as enjoyable as the PC version.


05/20/05 | | Laurie Taylor
Capcom's Okami blends watercolor fluidity with a mythologized storyline to create a beautiful and immersive game. To get the full effect of the game's beauty, you have to see it in motion and actually try out the blend of action and painting, but you can get the next best thing in Laurie's preview.


05/20/05 | | Laurie Taylor
category: archive
Any game that can claim to be next generation? is a hot topic this year. The Xbox 360, PS3, and Revolution all have a great deal of buzz, but we're only now starting to see the first hints of what the games themselves will actually look like. Every screenshot we've seen has been from early developer kits, which are traditionally less powerful than the final systems. We get a look at the Xbox 360 title Full Auto.


05/19/05 | | Shawn Rider
category: archive
Turtle Beach has long been one of the premier audio hardware manufacturers for the PC, and this year they are unveiling their new line of surround-sound headphones, which seriously thump. These headbangers feature front, center, and rear channels, plus subwoofers with flappers. Oh yeah, we like. We like very much...


05/19/05 | | Shawn Rider
category: archive
Scratched discs suck. There's no other way to put it. And while there are many methods of repairing scratched discs, we were impressed with the Automax system, which is a very nice, drop it and go device that buffs those scratches right out.


05/19/05 | | Chris Martin
category: archive
3d Realms seems to have been under the radar for a while. Duke Nukem Forever might be just a pipe-dream, but let me assure you 3d Realms' new title "Prey" is very much a reality. One of the real jems on the E3 floor, it blew our freakin' socks off - way beyond what we've seen in sample videos before! Impressions and screens inside.


05/19/05 | | Laurie Taylor
category: archive
Nancy Drew is 75 this year, but the teen sleuth is still remarkably agile, thanks to the folks at Her Interactive. Secret of the Old Clock is the latest game in the series, and our woman Laurie has the details.


previous :: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 :: next

Your Nintendog is hungry.