home > search >
GamesFirst! Online since 1995
previous :: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 :: next

Keywords: Sort by: Look in:
Check box to search full phrase only.


Not finding what you need? Check the really old stuff using Google!

Google
 
Web GamesFirst.com


Search for 'review' returned 693 results.

Trauma Center: Under the Knife Review
game: Trauma Center: Under the Knife
review | 10/14/05 | George Holomshek
Trauma Center: Under the Knife is one of the most unique games available on a system that\'s known for offering some rather unique experiences. The medical puzzle game is challenging and addictive, and uses the DS stylus to make cutting someone open fun instead of just icky. It\'s mindblowingly difficult, which gives us that much more respect for medical professionals. It\'s also kind of weird: Why is the best move the \"cool\" move? Is it just us, or is it weird to prefer \"cool\" over \"good\" medical procedures? Oh well, we have a botox party to get to. Enjoy the review!
click here for more

Call of Duty 2 Preview
game: Call of Duty 2
preview | 10/13/05 | Blaine Krumpe
Call of Duty 2 puts gamers back in the role of American, British, and Russian soldiers fighting for the Allies in World War II. Known for its gritty depiction of the battlefield, Call of Duty 2 amps up the realism and immersive qualities. Everything from the AI of enemies and allies to the stellar graphics and enhanced environments have been improved upon, making Call of Duty 2 one of the most hectic battlefield simulations out there. Check out Blaine\'s preview here.
click here for more

Trace Memory Review
game: Trace Memory
review | 10/12/05 | Laurie Taylor
Trace Memory for the Nintendo DS is a bold take on what an adventure game can be, and it provides a whole new take on the concept of \"all killer, no filler.\" Trace Memory clocks in at a very brief five or six hours, which is definitely not the norm in gaming these days, but those are some of the most enjoyable five or six hours we\'ve seen in an adventure game. Our resident academic gamer, Laurie Taylor, takes a look at this unique title.
click here for more

The Mario Opera
news | 10/09/05 | Aaron Stanton
We here at GamesFirst are always fans of game enthusiasts showing their love in new and creative ways. You see fan art and fan fiction, but have you ever imagined there would be fan opera? Jonathan Mann has created a Mario Opera, and quite frankly the musical performances aren\'t bad; in fact, they\'re indicative of some serious musical talent implemented in a sometimes - but not always - cheesy way. Whether or not Mario is the place to show off that talent might be in question, though. Our advice is to not bother with the preview, but instead take a moment to listen to the songs themselves. Our personal favorite? The Lizard Wizard.
click here for more

The Chronicles of Narnia Preview
game: Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
preview | 10/06/05 | Aaron Stanton
Sometimes it takes a movie to turn a good idea into a game. The fantasy setting of The Chronicles of Narnia is an ideal world for the basis of a video game, containing monsters, heroes, and mystical creatures. Even separated from its religious basis, the story behind the classic children\'s tales offers everything a game designer could hope for to create a rich, living environment. In November, developer Traveler\'s Tales will be releasing a video game based on the upcoming movie adaptation of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, and GamesFirst! has had an opportunity to play through a preview build of the title. What we found is a game worth looking forward to. Check out our preview.
click here for more

Serious Sam 2 Preview
game: Serious Sam 2
preview | 10/04/05 | Blaine Krumpe
Serious Sam 2 brings more of that classic Sam action to a variety of platforms. Developed by the eccentric Croatian development house, Croteam, Serious Sam is known for bright, colorful graphics, frantic action, and lots and lots of bullets. This time out, we get an evolution of everything, but also a very true-to-roots fragfest that involves some of the most insane monsters we\'ve ever seen. Check out Blaine\'s preview of Serious Sam 2 based on the recently released game demo.
click here for more

Indigo Prophecy Review
game: Indigo Prophecy
review | 10/04/05 | Aaron Stanton
Even though adventure games have not been popular since the turn of the millennium, Indigo Prophecy managed to make it onto the shelves. The result is a title with a great interactive story that shifts seamlessly to match your actions on a level rarely seen in video games before. Check out our review to discover why Aaron considers Indigo Prophecy one of the best games ever made, and possibly a defensive tool in a game industry defending itself against political attack.
click here for more

GF! Weekly Wrap-Up
podcast | 10/01/05 | Val Townsend
This week in the podcast we take a look at the latest world news, followed by a review of We Love Katamari for PlayStation 2, and concluded with a nice preview of Okami, the gorgeous calligraphy-themed adventure game coming to PS2 from Capcom. It\'s like an international smorgasbord of goodness -- crab a Fanta and listen up.
click here for more

We Love Katamari Review
game: We Love Katamari
review | 09/26/05 | Shawn Rider
We Love Katamari. And we mean that. The sequel to last year\'s runaway cult fave Katamari Damacy, We Love Katamari brings a whole new visual style to the table, but plenty of the same quirky style, sense of humor, and awesome roll-it-up gameplay we love. This time out you can also enjoy the rolling with a friend: The multiplayer cooperative gameplay is incredible. There is nothing else like Katamari, so you\'ve got to check this out.
click here for more

GF! Weekly Wrap-Up
podcast | 09/24/05 | Val Townsend
Val\'s back with another awesome GF! Weekly Wrap-Up. This week we take a look at Jets \'n Guns, Fable: The Lost Chapters, and Metal Slug 4/5. We also have a preview of the oh-so-dreamy Alan Wake, and of course a summary of the week\'s biggest news stories. Give the controller a wee break and check this out.
click here for more

GF! Weekly Wrap-Up
podcast | 09/18/05 | Val Townsend
This week\'s Wrap-Up features the latest news from the Tokyo Game Show, including news of the Nintendo Revolution controller and Xbox 360 release dates. This week\'s reviews feature Big Mutha Truckers 2 (PS2, Xbox), Beatdown: Fists of Vengeance (PS2, Xbox), and Rainbow Six: Lockdown (PS2, Xbox). Val also takes an early look at Lost in Blue for Nintendo DS, which looks like it will be a cool survival sim. You know you can\'t wait for it.
click here for more

Jets'n'Guns Review
game: Jets'n'Guns
review | 09/14/05 | George Holomshek
Jets\'n\'Guns, from indy game developer Rake in Grass, is a sh\'mup fan\'s dream come true: A wacky story provides an excuse for you to pilot your tricked out, jet-powered instrument of destruction to horde after horde of enemy hardware. Featuring a scientifically verified \"buttload\" of upgrades and enhancements, Jets\'n\'Guns can keep you hooked on its uber-chaotic shooter gameplay for a surprisingly long time. Check it out.
click here for more

Rainbow Six: Lockdown Review
game: Rainbow Six: Lockdown
review | 09/13/05 | Aaron Stanton
Rainbow Six is a game franchise that we really cherish here at GamesFirst, so when Lockdown came out with horrible flaws we couldn\'t help but feel disappointed. Truth is, the game\'s entire AI system is just plain stupid. We didn\'t think you\'d believe us if we just showed you pictures and wrote about being able to withstand 7.5 minutes of weapon fire, so we\'ve included video clips of our character being all immortal and impervious to bullets. Funny thing; you actually die more if you take cover. Check it out.
click here for more

Beatdown: Fists of Vengeance
game: Beatdown: Fists of Vengeance
review | 09/13/05 | Laurie Taylor
Combining a little bit GTA with a little bit Def Jam Vendetta, and a whole frothy can of whoop@$$, Capcom\'s Beatdown: Fists of Vengeance proves that even a somewhat flawed game can pack in a lot of fun. That is, if you can make it through the load screens. Get your b\'mup on with Laurie\'s review.
click here for more

Lost in Blue Preview
game: Lost in Blue
preview | 09/11/05 | Shawn Rider
Konami\'s Lost in Blue looks to easily become one of a small group of truly innovative and standout titles on Nintendo DS this Fall. Lost in Blue casts you onto the shores of a deserted island, and it is up to you to use your wits to survive. With cool touch screen minigames used to perform manual tasks, and a deep and complex simulation governing the island that affects almost every task you perform, Lost in Blue has all the markings of a must play.
click here for more

Search Hints

 

 

 

 

 

 

The cake is a lie.