home > search >
GamesFirst! Online since 1995
previous :: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 :: next

Keywords: Sort by: Look in:
Check box to search full phrase only.


Not finding what you need? Check the really old stuff using Google!

Google
 
Web GamesFirst.com


Search for 'review' returned 693 results.

Pinball Hall of Fame Review
game: Pinball Hall of Fame: The Gottlieb Collection
review | 01/04/06 | Shawn Rider
Crave has delivered a really great pinball collection to the PSP. Pinball Hall of Fame: The Gottlieb Collection features over a dozen classic Gottlieb pinball tables and arcade miscellany, all simulated in loving detail. This is a portable gaming pinball fan\'s dream come true, and it even allows you to serve out pinball games wirelessly to other PSPs. That means wireless multiplayer for all from a single UMD. If you like the pinball action, check this one out.
click here for more

GelTabz Review
game: GelTabz
review | 01/02/06 | Shawn Rider
GelTabz are an unlikely must-have enhancement. They are so incredibly simple they\'ll have you wondering why more game controllers don\'t make use of their innovative design. But they are so effective that once you give them a shot, you won\'t want to play without them. As natural a fit as a baseball glove and a baseball bat, GelTabz are definitely worth a closer look. Get the full review here.
click here for more

New Chronicles of Spellborn Screens
game: The Chronicles of Spellborn: What Lies Hidden Must Be Found
news | 01/02/06 | Shawn Rider
The Chronicles of Spellborn: What Lies Hidden Must Be Found is a good-looking new MMORPG on the block. Developed by a Dutch group, and featuring a unique graphical style that sets it apart from the typical fantasy game aesthetics, Spellborn might be just the thing for folks tiring of the WoW bump and grind. The teaser site has plenty of info up about the game, as well as some unique \"Choose Your Own Adventure\" styled narratives to help gamers get into the backstory. Check out these new screens and read our previously published preview (link inside) for more.
click here for more

FIFA 06: Road To The FIFA World Cup Review
game: FIFA 06: Road To The FIFA World Cup
review | 01/01/06 | Matt James
EA Sports\' FIFA franchise is often the only thing going in the US, and that\'s not necessarily a good thing. Matt James took a close look at FIFA 06: Road to FIFA World Cup, the Xbox 360 launch incarnation of the FIFA series, and found that it\'s probably not worth the upgrade. The visuals are real purty, but the rest of the game just isn\'t up to par. It\'s too tough for newbs to pick it up, and it lacks features and roster that the current-gen versions have. Get the full story here.
click here for more

Cuban Missile Crisis: The Aftermath Review
game: Cuban Missile Crisis: The Aftermath
review | 12/31/05 | George Holomshek
An interesting hybrid of real-time and turn-based strategy play, Cuban Missile Crisis: The Aftermath does its best to set itself apart from the masses of other strategy games. Set in a hypothetical alternate history that posits the Cuban Missile Crisis led to catastrophic nuclear war, the game has a lot going for it: Optional missions, nuclear wastelands, several different campaigns based on different superpowers. There is a lot to like here, but can Cuban Missile Crisis: The Aftermath stand out among the faceless masses of hardcore war games? George has the review.
click here for more

NBA 2K6 Review
game: NBA 2K6
review | 12/30/05 | Chris Martin
In the battle of Xbox 360 launch titles, two contenders went head-to-head on the hardwood: NBA Live 06 and NBA 2K6. Chris Martin already reported on NBA Live\'s disappointing performance, but left us dangling on NBA 2K6\'s courtside prowess. So how does the 2K Sports title fare against behemoth EA\'s basketball baby? Rather well. Featuring a lot more material than NBA Live, and prettier graphics, NBA 2K6 is the basketball title to pick up. Check the review for the details.
click here for more

Full Auto Preview
game: Full Auto
preview | 12/29/05 | Shawn Rider
Pseudo Interactive and Sega are teaming up to bring us Full Auto, a combat racing game for Xbox 360 that will have you bashing and crashing vehicles to your heart\'s content. We just got a bunch of new screens dumped on us, so we thought we\'d share them with you and add in some more details about the story, unique gameplay, and fancy physics engine that will make Full Auto go. Check it out.
click here for more

SketchFighter 4000 Preview
game: SketchFighter 4000
preview | 12/26/05 | Aaron Stanton
Though large publishers like EA and Ubisoft might get most of the mainstream media coverage, the most creative companies sometimes tend to be smaller, less well known. Ambrosia Software, creators of Darwinia, have come up with another instantly recognizable success. Now heading into Beta, SketchFighter 4000 is an action exploration game that\'s defined by its presentation. The entire game looks like it was drawn during third period on a notepad.
click here for more

Happy Holidays From GF!
news | 12/25/05 | Shawn Rider
On behalf of the staff of GamesFirst!, we would like to take this space to wish all of our staff, readers and colleagues a happy, happy holiday season. We wouldn\'t be here without you, and we know that. On our 10th holiday season, we are thankful for all the people who have helped make GamesFirst! what it is today. Our staff is among the best online, and we value your efforts. To our fellow websites (especially the ones who kick down the kind links), we thank you. You know who you are, and you inspire us to do better. To all of the game developers, PR reps, and publishers who work with us on a daily basis, we want to extend our most sincere gratitude. We couldn\'t do what we do without your continued support, and life wouldn\'t be as much fun without you.

And, of course, we want to wish Happy Holidays to our readers. We are proud to be able to serve you for the past 10 years, and we look forward to number 11. Without you, we\'d just be posting up articles for our mothers to read, and although they never complain about our reviews or call us idiots, GF! would feel pretty empty without you. Thanks.
click here for more

GF! Weekly Wrap-Up #14
podcast | 12/23/05 | Val Townsend
This week in the Wrap-Up, Val takes a look at a bunch of the reviews we couldn\'t fit into other podcasts. We rundown some of the best games of the season, including the wild-west adventure game GUN, the vehicular mayhem of Need for Speed: Most Wanted, the stylish Project Gotham Racing 3, alien warfare in Quake 4, and the handheld racing action of Mario Kart DS. We\'re cutting the crap and getting right to the goods. Check it out.
click here for more

Chronicles of Spellborn Preview
game: The Chronicles of Spellborn: What Lies Hidden Must Be Found
preview | 12/22/05 | Shawn Rider
Developed by a Dutch group of designers, The Chronicles of Spellborn uses the Unreal 2.5 Engine to bring a unique fantasy world to life. The Chronicles of Spellborn is an MMORPG with a unique visual style that is quite appealing. The game focuses on skill and intelligent use of force, which puts even lower level players on a good footing for adventure, and player actions shape the world, which even allows players to make a permanent lasting mark on the world. The Chronicles of Spellborn offers loads of secrets to uncover-- fitting the subtitle, \"What lies hidden must be found.\"
click here for more

Zoo Tycoon 2: Endangered Species Review
game: Zoo Tycoon 2: Endangered Species
review | 12/22/05 | George Holomshek
Zoo Tycoon 2 managed to keep a number of people up late into the night in its original form, and now there\'s an expansion to help add hours to the fun. Microsoft\'s new expansion gives you things like sky trams, official Jeep tours, and a gun-less FPS element, but is there really anything new here? We take some time to run through Zoo Tycoon\'s new elements to see if there\'s enough depth here to justify a $30 purchase.
click here for more

Quake 4 Review
game: Quake 4
review | 12/21/05 | Jeremy Kauffman
Quake 4 arrives on the Xbox 360 and all of its next-gen processing glory and gore. Built on the Doom 3 engine for super-hot graphical prowess, this time out ye olde Quake features both a single-player Strogg hunting single-player story and the intense arena action we\'ve come to expect from the series. But can a few Halo-like improvements rocket-jump Quake 4 to the top of your holiday wishlist? Check Jeremy\'s review to find out.
click here for more

Chromehounds Preview
game: Chromehounds
preview | 12/20/05 | Shawn Rider
Chromehounds is a big mech action title coming to the Xbox 360 this spring from Sega and FROM Software. FROM Software is best known as the makers of the fan-favorite Armored Core series, which makes them immensely qualified to tackle a next-gen heavy robot game. Taking place in an alternate history centered around Cold War land grabs, Chromehounds looks to bring big battles and big mechs to a console near you next Spring. Get the full preview here.
click here for more

PoPoLoCrois Review
game: PoPoLoCrois
review | 12/20/05 | Shawn Rider
PoPoLoCrois has been a popular game series in Japan for a decade now, even spawning an animated TV series, but the series has never seen action in North America. Agetec\'s latest incarnation of PoPoLoCrois for the PSP is a revamped combination of the first two games in the series, originally released on PSOne, plus some additional original content. Featuring very nice animated cutscenes, and a super-kawaii art style, PoPoLoCrois is likely to satisfy any gamers looking for a classic RPG experience on-the-go. Check Shawn\'s review for more.
click here for more

Search Hints

 

 

 

 

 

 

A decade of snarky gaming journalism.