home > search >
GamesFirst! Online since 1995
previous :: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 :: next

Keywords: Sort by: Look in:
Check box to search full phrase only.


Not finding what you need? Check the really old stuff using Google!

Google
 
Web GamesFirst.com


Search for 'review' returned 693 results.

LoveChess: Age of Egypt Review
game: LoveChess: Age of Egypt
review | 02/14/06 | George Holomshek
Happy Valentine\'s Day, dear readers. From deep within the GF! Office of Love and Videogames, we are pleased to bring you George\'s latest research, a review of LoveChess: Age of Egypt, the sequel to Dutch developer Artmunk\'s LoveChess: The Greek Era. The multiplayer here is unlikely to inspire extended sessions of sultry romance, but it\'s at least a brief diversion from watching Skinamax while playing Fritz 9. Get the full story here.

And be warned: George\'s review is remarkably clean, but LoveChess features depictions of sex, and the screenshots are most likely not safe for work. (Unless you work at Artmunk.)
click here for more

Marble Blast Rocks!
game: Marble Blast Ultra
review | 02/13/06 | Tristan Mayshark
Marble Blast Ulra is one of the first games developed for the new XBox Live Arcade on the XBox 360, and brings to mind nearly everything that was great about the golden era of shareware games, from try before you buy downloadable distribution models (which we like very much) to fun, simple gameplay based on equal parts thought and reflex. Bask in the future-past gaming enjoyment that is Marble Blast Ultra. Tristan has the review right here.
click here for more

GamesFirst! Weekly Wrap-Up #18
podcast | 02/11/06 | Val Townsend
Val brings us another episode of the GamesFirst! Weekly Wrap-Up, packed full of all the best stuff going on in the gaming world. This week, we take a look at two books out now about hacking the PSP: One is great, and the other is not. We also test the Altec Lansing AHS302i headphones, which are well-priced even if not so well-fitting. Finally, we get to the games with a review of Legion Arena for the PC and a preview of the Final Fantasy XI Beta for Xbox 360. Download the latest episode of the GF! Weekly Wrap-Up right here.
click here for more

Preview - Lula 3D
game: Lula 3D
preview | 02/08/06 | George Holomshek
Lula 3D is an early release in the coming wave of adult-oriented semi-mainstream games. Featuring a wacky adventure story and gameplay, not unlike the Leisure Suit Larry series, Lula 3D put gamers in the role of Lula, a porn director who must solve the mystery of her missing stars. Follow Lula on a trail of clues that will have her traversing America in search of porn stars and lewd humor. George is on top of this one, so to speak, and offers up this complete preview.
click here for more

Wild ARMs 4 Review
game: Wild ARMs 4
review | 02/05/06 | Amanda Bateman
XSEED\'s debut title Wild ARMs 4, the American localization of Wild ARMs: The 4th Detonator, is finally here, sporting flashy art, a new battle system, and its share of extras and secrets. But is it worth your gella to go out and grab it? Very likely. Featuring some improvements over some of the series\' historical rough spots, Wild ARMs 4 is some of the best gaming the franchise has to offer. Check out Amanda\'s review, right here.
click here for more

Goooaaaaal! Worldwide Soccer Manager 2006 Review
game: Worldwide Soccer Manager 2006 (Football Manager 2006)
review | 02/03/06 | Chris Galbraith
Worldwide Soccer Manager 2006 (or \"Football\" Manager as it\'s known across the pond) claims to be the most popular game in Europe. It features no 3D graphics, no compelling tackle or pass system, and no announcers providing play-by-play color commentary. Worldwide Soccer Manager focuses on the detailed strategy of running a soccer team: From finances and training schedules to promotions and contract negotiations, you\'ll assume the role of coach and micromanage every little detail about your club. It\'s not for everyone, but it\'s well-loved in certain circles. So we got our resident Euro-living American soccer nut, Chris Galbraith, to bring us back this review. Check it out.
click here for more

Fritz 9 Play Chess Review
game: Fritz 9 Play Chess
review | 02/02/06 | Sean Hilliard
Fritz 9 Play Chess could be the best thing to hit the chess world for the professional and semi-professional player since Bobby Fischer. The glory and drama are brought to vivid life with 3D graphics, customizable themes, variable views, and video tutorials in how to make your chess game better. Not excited? Then at least read Sean\'s review to see the best strategy for playing against drunks, morons and reckless monkeys. Seriously.
click here for more

Altec Lansing AHS302i Headset: Good Sound, Good Value, Gorilla Ergonomics
game: AHS302i
review | 02/01/06 | Tristan Mayshark
What with all the VOIP and voice chat in PC games these days, a good headset with stereo speakers and a mic are very much appreciated. Altec Lansing has delivered a solid and inexpensive product with the AHS302i headset, but the comfort factor may be enough to convince many people to go with a more expensive product. Our man Tristan took on the headphones challenge, and now we have to speak a little louder to him. Get the full review right here.
click here for more

Tales of Legendia Arriving in February
game: Tales of Legendia
preview | 01/30/06 | Amanda Bateman
Namco\'s Tales of Legendia, the newest edition to the Tales series, gives us a whole new spin on the term \'castaway\'. Tales of Legendia combines a classic fantasy roleplaying game with a unique battle system involving fighting game elements. Legendia has now officially \"gone gold,\" which means American gamers will be playing it in no time. Our own Amanda Bateman got the early scoop on Tales of Legendia in this preview.
click here for more

Gaming Days of Old: Reviewing King's Quest I and II
game: King's Quest
feature | 01/29/06 | Aaron Stanton
Ever since the fan-created make of King\'s Quest IX was saved from the falling axe, some of us here at GamesFirst have been craving the days when adventure games ruled the PC. Sierra Online Entertainment was one of the biggest boys around, and games like Space Quest, King\'s Quest, and The Dagger of Amon Ra ruled the land. But how do these games stack up now? Thanks to a company that ports EGA classics into free, download-able VGA environments, you can find out for yourself. Surf over to AGDinteractive.com. If you\'ve never heard of them before, you\'ll be glad we pointed you in their direction.
click here for more

Hacking the PSP Review
game: Hacking the PSP
review | 01/28/06 | Shawn Rider
The PSP hacking and homebrew communities are lively places, and there are weekly advances in the effort to add features and content to our PSPs. Sometimes these advances come even too rapidly for us to keep up with, and we can\'t imagine tackling a book about PSP hacking: How could you write something that won\'t be totally outdated a few months after its release? The answer is still not clear to us, but we\'ve finally found a PSP book worth reading. Auri Rahimzadeh\'s Hacking the PSP is the best PSP hacking and modification book we\'ve seen so far. If you\'re the pulp-and-ink kind of tinkerer, skip the others and head directly for this one. Shawn has the full review here.
click here for more

PSP Hacks, Mods and Expansions Review
game: PSP Hacks, Mods and Expansions
review | 01/28/06 | Shawn Rider
The PSP hacking scene is difficult to keep a handle on, even as a web-based magazine, where we can publish articles regularly covering the latest development. In the past month several new tools and utilities have come out that any PSP enthusiast has already read about on any one of a number of good PSP hacking, mod and homebrew websites. So when GF! received two new books about hacking the PSP, we were skeptical that they could possibly be as good as a quality website, but hoped they could at least be more detailed, better organized, and feature more helpful illustrations for some of the basics of PSP hacking. We first looked at Dave Prochnow\'s PSP Hacks, Mods and Expansions. Boasting on the book\'s cover includes both a \"Money Saving Coupons\" emblem and a laundry list of tips that begins with \"The Top 10 UMD Movies\" and \"Which Are the Top 10 Games Worth Buying?\" We embarked with a happy outlook: Heck, we didn\'t even realize there were 10 games worth buying on the PSP... Check out Shawn\'s review here.
click here for more

Full Auto Demo Available Now on Xbox Live
game: Full Auto
news | 01/27/06 | Shawn Rider
Sega sends word that Full Auto has officially gone gold. This announcement coincides with the release of a bunch of new screens, which we\'re featuring here, and an Xbox Live demo, which we\'ve downloaded and raged through. The verdict is still out on this one-- the demo is a bit skimpy, and we haven\'t gotten a lot of time with it yet. In the meantime, check out these new screens and get the details on this chaotic action racer in our recent preview. All of which lies behind this link.
click here for more

SmackDown Vs. RAW 2006 Review
game: SmackDown Vs. RAW 2006
review | 01/24/06 | Matt James
SmackDown Vs. RAW 2006 on the PSP is almost identical to its PS2 counterpart: The graphics are quite nice, the control remains enjoyable, and the full depth of play is retained. Including loads of wrestlers, some great WiFi multiplayer, and a management mode that adds a whole new layer to the wrestling game, SmackDown Vs. RAW 2006 is a must-play for portable-gaming wrestling fans. Get the full review from Matt James right here.
click here for more

RIP Review: From Russia With Guns
game: RIP
review | 01/23/06 | Shawn Rider
RIP is a fast-action twitch title that is also relatively easy to pick up and play. The simple action is augmented by some strategic upgrade and skill development elements, which gives it a unique feel. For folks who love a fast-paced shooter with hordes of enemies and a dose of thoughtful strategy, RIP warrants a demo download at the least. Get the lowdown on this independently developed import from Russia in Shawn\'s review.
click here for more

Search Hints

 

 

 

 

 

 

A decade of snarky gaming journalism.